MEMS’22 Conference

The 35th International Conference on Micro Electro Mechanical Systems (MEMS) was hosted in Tokyo (Japan) from January 9th to 13th, 2022. Due to Covid-19 border shutdown, the Conference adopted a hybrid format to allow international attendees to join the Conference virtually. In total, more than 500 attendees participated in the conference, from which more than two thirds joined from Asia/Oceania (69%), followed by the Americas (18%), and Europe/Africa (13%).

IEEE MEMS 2022 was supported by more than 20 industrial benefactors and a large international Technical Program Committee (TPC) chaired by Professors Zhihong Li (Peking University) and Shuji Tanaka (Tohoku University). This year, the TPC reviewed 600 abstracts and accepted 275 papers (74 oral and 201 posters), which set the acceptance rate to 45.8%. Most of these papers fell within the category of MEMS Physical & Chemical Sensors (29%), followed by Bio & Medical MEMS (21%) and MEMS/NEMS for optical, RF & Electromagnetics (14%).

In the opening remarks ceremony, four IEEE members were recognized for being elected as IEEE fellows in 2021 and 2022 (Professors C-J. Kim, A. Seshi, D. Horsley and E. Yoon). Moreover, the prestigious IEEE 2022 Robert Bosch Micro and Nano Electro Mechanical Systems award went to Professor Goran Stemme (KTH Royal Institute of Technology) for “Pioneering contributions in MEMS sensors, particularly for medical applications, and sustained commitment to transferring MEMS to industry and society”.

Speaker: Shuji Tanaka (Tohoku University).